skip to content

Research Operations Office


Research Councils UK (RCUK) is a strategic partnership of the UK Research Councils. RCUK was established in 2002 to enable the Research Councils to work together more effectively to enhance the overall impact and effectiveness of their research, training and innovation activities, contributing to the delivery of the Government’s objectives for science and innovation.


UK Research and Innovation came into existence on 1 April 2018, operating across the whole of the UK with a combined budget of more than £6 billion, UK Research and Innovation brings together the seven Research Councils (see below), Innovate UK and a new organisation, Research England.

The seven individual research councils are:

AHRC (Arts and Humanities Research Council)
BBSRC (Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council)
EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)
ESRC (Economic and Social Research Council)
MRC (Medical Research Council)
NERC (Natural Environment Research Council)
STFC (Science and Technology Facilities Council)


EPSRC Open Meeting - Wednesday 29th January 2020

On Wednesday 29th January 2020, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council visited Cambridge. Their presentations included Strategic Priorities, Infrastructure Roadmap and Early Career Opportunities.